Brian Lynch

Brian Lynch

Brian Lynch was born in 1945 in Dublin, where he still lives.

His new novel, The Woman Not The Name, was published by the Duras Press in October 2013 and launched by Paul Durcan at the Little Museum of Dublin.

Samuel Beckett nominated him for election to Aosdána in 1983, praising his “exceptional talent”.

His first novel, The Winner of Sorrow, based on the life of the poet William Cowper (1731-1800), was published in Ireland by New Island Books in 2005 and in America by the Dalkey Archive Press in 2009.

The poet Samuel Menashe said about it: ‘Never has a character in fiction been more alive to me than your man in his world… I wish Jane Austen could read it – in heaven, of course. It would shake her up in a great way.’

Lynch and Professor Ciarán Benson curated and edited a catalogue on ‘Tony O’Malley Self-Portraits A Centenary Exhibition 2013′ for the Butler Gallery, Kilkenny, in October 2013.

His tribute to Seamus Heaney in The Sunday Independent can be read at http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/he-exhausted-himself-in-the-service-of-poetry-29542430.html. To read the text click on the entry right in Recent Posts.

Lynch is also writing, with Professor Ugo Valdrè, a critical biography of the Italian artist and architect Vincenzo Valdrè, aka Vincent Waldré (1740-1814). The Huntington Library in California has awarded him a fellowship to do research on the archives the library holds on Stowe House in Buckinghamshire where Valdrè was artist in residence.

His poem ‘I Breathe A Drug’ set by the composer Jerome De Bromhead was premiered at the Hilltown New Music Festival, Castlepollard, Co Longford, on 21 July 2013. To read the poem click on the entry right in Recent Entries.

His first book of poems Endsville (with Paul Durcan) was published in 1967. New and Renewed – Poems 1967-2004 was published by New Island in 2005.

Amongst his eleven books of verse is a translation, Paul Celan: 65 Poems (Raven Arts Press 1986).

Crooked in the Car Seat was nominated for Best Play in the 1979 Dublin Theatre Festival. A four-part RTE and Channel 4 TV series about German spies in Ireland, Caught in a Free State, won a Jacobs Award and the Banff International TV Festival Best Drama Award in 1984.

Love and Rage, a feature film starring Greta Scacchi and Daniel Craig, was directed by Cathal Black in 1998.

His book on the artist Tony O’Malley (New Island) is now in its third edition. He also wrote and curated for the Butler Gallery, Kilkenny, ‘The Visual Diaries – Fifty Years of Tony O’Malley’s Sketchbooks’.

See his author profile on Amazon at



  1. Dear Brian Lynch,

    It was a pleasant surprise receiving your new novel by mail. The surprise was even bigger reading your friendly and complimentary words. I feel honoured. Thank you very, very much. As I would like to send you a copy of my new poetry collection, would it be a problem to send me your address?
    Warm regards,

    Huib Fens

  2. The Winner of Sorrow is a staggering novel.

  3. Hi, its good post regarding media print, we all understand media is a enormous source of data.

  4. Dopo aver letto questo ho creduto che fosse molto
    illuminante . Apprezzo che il tempo e lo sforzo di mettere questo breve articolo
    insieme . Ancora una volta trovo personalmente spendere troppo tempo sia in lettura e lasciando commenti .

    Ma così che cosa , era ancora la pena !

    Visit my weblog – book of ra deluxe

  5. Hello there, Nice post. We have a problem using your web-site around website traveler, could possibly test the following? Firefox still is the industry innovator in addition to a massive part of folks can pass over a person’s magnificent creating just for this difficulty.

Leave a Reply

Using Gravatars in the comments - get your own and be recognized!

XHTML: These are some of the tags you can use: <a href=""> <b> <blockquote> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>